RSS Feeds back up, sort of

May 23, 2003

I seem to like posting in threes lately — I don’t intend to make this a habit. 🙂

If anyone besides myself is actually subscribed to the RSS Feeds that I create/host they may have noticed that the feeds didn’t update for a bit this week. Turns out my task scheduler jobs didn’t run with me logged out (guess I misinterpreted how it was going to use the user id/password it said it would run as). I’ve moved the jobs to my laptop, but since that’s not guaranteed to be on at any particular time of the day, I can’t automatically schedule the jobs. I’m going to be trying to keep up with things by running the scripts manually for the summer, but please bear with me if there’s a day or two between updates sometimes (particularly as I have some traveling to do this summer).

Also, if there are other pages you’d like to see have RSS feeds created for, feel free to post a comment here with the URL and I’ll add it to my list.

One Response to “RSS Feeds back up, sort of”

  1. Jeff Says:

    ‘sokay. I hadn’t really noticed, but, then I’ve been way behind on my readings anyway.

    A thought. Could you perhaps put the jobs in your .profile (or .cshrc or whatever you happen to use) and have it run once a day? The very first time, you run the job, and it touches a file in /tmp. Then, when .cshrc gets sourced on a login or what have you, it checks the file in /tmp to see if it’s older than 24 hours. If it is, the job runs again.

    Heh. I have way to much time on my hands sometimes….


Comments are closed.

